I’ve been slacking, and preparing. June 1. 2013

These past few months since my last post I have done quite a bit. Nothing too exciting, at least in comparison to my approaching trip to Italy that will range from the Cinque Terre, Tuscany, down to Sorrento, and up to the Dolomites. I will post a daily summary with photos from that day when I get back. Regretfully, I won’t be able to take my laptop, so that’s why I will post when I get back.

Right now, its list making and bag packing for me.

DSC_0504[1]

My first pheasant hunt, in the Dakotas.

Last February, I had the neat experience to travel with my high school’s pep band to a few girl’s basketball tournaments (they got second at state). I play saxophone, and this has been my first true year of playing it with dedication. Later on during this spring, I actually had a solo during a jazz piece at our school concert and talent show. I have been improving tremendously. I still need to work on those scales, though. I went to the annual Buddy DeFranco jazz festival in Missoula and got to see professional jazz players and partook in some workshops.

During one of those pep band trips, I went to a Wailers concert. It was my first concert, and it may have been small, but this band is world renowned for playing with Bob Marley. They played great music and it was very fun. Next concert I go to I am bringing my camera.

Two other recent experiences of mine was taking part of a passover meal put on by a local messianic rabbi. It was chock full of little history lessons about the tradition. The second experience was my Confirmation at the cathedral. Again, it was very neat and special, but not the giant celebration that many cultures make it.

DSC_0514[1]

Passover meal.

I have awoken from the period of time that is winter and I have been running some 5k races. Running has been fun for me but I haven’t been training a lot. I will definitely in the midsummer, the time before cross country season. I loved cross country last year and I am looking forward to it again. After a race on Mother’s day, my mother found a guinea pig that had been tossed out on a dirt road. We have taken it in and I named it Murphy, in celebration of Eddie Murphy and his movie Dr. Doolittle.

DSC_0549[1]

Memorial day gathering, inside because of the rain.

I have been reading a biography on Fidel Castro, and it has been really interesting, despite his controversies. I think I will read a biography on Che Guevara next. I have recently bought Jack Kerouac’s On the Road and James Patterson’s 1rst To Die. The Great Train Robbery is also next on my list.

That is all I got for now, stay tuned and have a great June!

-Questen.

One thought on “I’ve been slacking, and preparing. June 1. 2013

Leave a Reply

